Baeza Museum. First University Foundation
The Baeza Museum is housed in a 16th-century noble house, although the façade is the only part of the Renaissance building that remains, which housed the first university headquarters for some years. The University Foundation of Baeza is due to San Juan de Avila, who founded “The Schools or Colleges” of Letters under the invocation of the Holy Trinity, which became the University in 1542 and the most important in Andalusia. The building was used for teaching until 1814 when it became patio housing. By the end of the 20th century, the town hall had renovated part of the building for housing and the rest for the headquarters of the Baeza Museum. The museum aims to value local history by conserving, studying and displaying objects and works from all eras and explaining the city’s development. An ideal place to discover Baeza’s history beyond its streets and monuments.